responsible for the Canadian Wheat Board serves as the chairman of the group. A group co-ordinator and three advisers are drawn from the federal departments of agriculture, external affairs and transport. Offices of the Grains Group are in Ottawa.

Heritage Canada Foundation. Established under the Canada Corporations Act (RSC 1970, c.C-32), the Heritage Canada Foundation is a national charitable non-profit organization. The foundation is the national voice of over 26,000 members and 200 groups on matters of conservation of Canada's architectural heritage. It is not a granting agency. It is financed by a \$13.18 million federal government endowment fund supplemented by grants and donations from corporations and individuals.

Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. The Historic Sites and Monuments Act of 1953 (RSC 1970, c.H-6, as amended) provides the statutory base for the operation of the board and defines its role as adviser to the minister of the environment who implements and develops a national program of commemorating historic sites. The board determines whether persons, places or events are of national historic significance.

The act provides for 17 members — two representatives each from Ontario and Quebec and one each for the eight other provinces, Yukon and Northwest Territories — appointed by the Governor-in-Council, together with the dominion archivist, one representative from the National Museums of Canada and one from the environment department. The board is comprised for the most part of professional historians, archivists and architects.

Immigration Appeal Board. Established under the Immigration Appeal Board Act (RSC 1970, c.I-3) as a court of record in 1967, and continuing under the Immigration Act 1976, the board is empowered to hear appeals from individuals who are the subject of a deportation or an exclusion order, or whose application to sponsor a relative has been refused under the immigration act. The board also hears applications for the redetermination of status by persons claiming to be refugees in Canada. An appeal from a decision of the Immigration Appeal Board lies to the federal court.

Indian Affairs and Northern Development, Department of (Indian and Northern Affairs Canada). The department is responsible for Canada's Indian and Inuit people and all renewable and non-renewable resources, with the exception of game, in Yukon and Northwest Territories according to the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act, 1970, as amended. The department comprises five organizational areas: Indian and Inuit affairs, northern affairs, native claims, corporate policy, and administration. Its roles and responsibilities include: fulfilling the lawful obligations of the federal government arising from treaties and the Indian Act; providing basic services to status Indians in education, social assistance, housing and community infrastructure; assisting Indians and Inuit to acquire employment skills and to develop viable businesses; negotiating the settlement of claims relating to aboriginal title not extinguished by treaty or superseded by law, or relating to past non-fulfilment of government obligations; providing transfer payments to the governments of Yukon and Northwest Territories to assist in financing basic services for all northerners, including Inuit, Indian and Métis peoples; and managing federal lands and the protection of the environment in the North either directly, or in collaboration with other federal departments such as EMR, environment, and fisheries and oceans. The department is in the process of fostering a transition from direct program delivery to Indians south of 60° to allow increasing self-management on the part of Indian bands, as well as moving toward formula financing for the two territories.

The commissioner of Northwest Territories and the commissioner of Yukon report to Parliament through the minister of Indian affairs and northern development. Theminister is also responsible to Parliament for the Northern Canada Power Commission.

Information Commissioner of Canada, Office of. The information commissioner is appointed by Parliament to deal with complaints from individuals who allege that the government has failed to comply with rights contained in the Access to Information Act (Freedom of Information). The information commissioner may appear on behalf of complainants, with their consent or as a party, in applications before the federal court for review of decisions of government institutions to refuse access under the act. The information commissioner reports directly to Parliament annually and may submit special reports.

Inspector General of Banks, Office of. The position of inspector general of banks was established in 1924 (Bank Act, SC 1924, c.7). The office now operates under the Bank Act (SC 1980-81-82-83, c.40). The essential statement of responsibility that has appeared largely unchanged since the position was created requires the inspector to make or cause to be made an examination at least annually of each bank for the purposes of satisfying himself that the provisions of the act having reference to the safety of the interests of depositors, creditors and shareholders of the bank and other provisions of the act are being duly observed and that the bank is in a sound financial condition, and report thereon to the minister of finance.

Insurance, Department of. This department, which originated in 1875 as a branch of the finance department, was constituted a separate department in 1910. It is authorized and governed by the Department of Insurance Act (RSC 1970, c.I-17). Under the superintendent of insurance, who is the deputy head, the department administers statutes applicable to federally incorporated insurance, trust, loan and investment companies; provincially incorporated insurance companies registered with the department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and moneylenders; co-operative credit societies registered under the Co-operative Credit Associations Act; pension plans organized and administered for the benefit of persons employed in connection with certain federal works, undertakings and businesses; and life insurance issued to certain members of the public service prior to May 1954.

Under the relevant provincial statutes, the department examines trust and loan companies incorporated in Nova Scotia, trust companies incorporated in New Brunswick